Virginia Tech®home

Career and Professional Development

Career and Professional Development

This office offers a wide range of services for students. Below are some of the most-used resources, but you are encouraged to also review the full Career and Professional Development website for additional tools and resources.

Career Advising
Career Outfitters
Cooperative Education and Internship Program (CEIP)
First-Destination Report
Handshake
Workshops, Career Fairs, Graduate School Fairs, and Information Sessions

Engineering Exposition (Expo)

One of the largest showcases of its kind in the country, Engineering Expo provides companies and students with the opportunity to meet on an informal basis and this meeting is often responsible for the establishment of a long and profitable relationship. Many students seeking internships or co-op positions come to Expo to discover what opportunities companies might have for the upcoming year. Expo is run two consecutive days every September.


List of Career Advisors by Major

Aerospace Engineering
Brian Kastner (briank4@vt.edu): Last Names M-Z
Emily Metzgar (emilymetzgar@vt.edu): Last Names A-L

Biological Systems Engineering
Priscilla Baker (bseadvising@vt.edu)

Biomedical Engineering
Amanda Sandridge (asandridge@vt.edu)

Chemical Engineering
Gary Whiting (gwhiting@vt.edu)

Civil Engineering
Kara Lattimer (karalatt@vt.edu)

Computer Engineering (including CPI, CRA, MCHL, NWCS, SFTW)
Mary Brewer (taylorm@vt.edu): Last Names A-D
Nicole Gholston (nicole7@vt.edu): Last Names E-K; R
Kimberly Johnston (kim4vt@vt.edu): Last Name L-Q
Susan Broniak (sbroniak@vt.edu): Last Names S-Z

Computer Science (including DCC and SC)
Jennifer Bradley (jrsotto@vt.edu)
Leigh Anne Byrd (leigha@vt.edu)
Tonisha Montgomery (tonisham@vt.edu)
Ryan Underwood (ryanunderwood@vt.edu)
Ruth Labbe Hale (ruth2018@vt.edu): CS, HCI, CYBER minors)

Construction Engineering and Management
Sharon Williams (sharon.williams@vt.edu)

Electrical Engineering (including CMNW, ECRA, ERES, MNSY, PHTN, RFMW, SPCS)
Mary Brewer (taylorm@vt.edu): Last Names A-D
Nicole Gholston (nicole7@vt.edu): Last Names E-K; R
Kimberly Johnston (kim4vt@vt.edu): Last Names L-Q
Susan Broniak (sbroniak@vt.edu): Last Names S-Z

General Engineering
Matthew Cheatham (mattc5@vt.edu)
Jennifer Chin (jchin@vt.edu)
Jessica Elmore (jjelmore@vt.edu)
Maia Greene-Havas (maiagh@vt.edu)
Alexis Miller (alexismiller@vt.edu)
Daniel Newcomb (danieln1@vt.edu)
James Newcomer (jamesn@vt.edu)
Alice Noble (alice.noble@vt.edu)

Industrial and Systems Engineering
Maggie Johnson (mlecos@vt.edu): Last Names A-L
Paula Van Curen (pcuren@vt.edu);  Last Names M-Z

Materials Science and Engineering
Michelle Czamanske (mczmans@vt.edu): General MSE
Abby Morgan (awhit@vt.edu): Biomaterials
Carolina Tallon (tallon@vt.edu): Ceramics
Alex Aning (aaning@vt.edu): Composites
Guo-Quan Lu (gqlu@vt.edu): Electrical, Optical, Photonic
William Reynolds (reynolds@vt.edu): Metals
Gary Pickrell (pickrell@vt.edu): Nanomaterials
Abby Whittington (awhit@vt.edu): Polymers

Mechanical Engineering (including AUTE and RBMT)
Annette Ben-Tzvi (abentzvi@vt.edu)
Sarah Deisher (deisher@vt.edu): Last Names A-G
Linda Vick (lvick@vt.edu): Last Names H-O

Mining Engineering
Michelle Crotto (mcrotto@vt.edu)