Virginia Tech®home

Academic Advising

What is academic advising?

Academic Advising at Virginia Tech is a collaborative process between student and advisor leading to the exchange of information that encourages the individual student to make responsible academic and career decisions.

Who is my academic advisor?

Students can view their academic advisor assignment on Hokie Spa under View General Student Information.

How do I make an appointment?

Currently, enrolled students can schedule an appointment with their advisor through Navigate.

Why should I see my advisor?

Students are encouraged to meet with their assigned academic advisor prior to:

  • registering for the next semester's classes
  • dropping a class
  • withdrawing from a class
  • resigning from a semester
  • choosing a major and/or minor
  • taking classes at another institution
  • studying abroad
  • completing undergraduate research
  • accepting a co-op/internship/full-time job

List of Academic Advisors by Major

Aerospace Engineering
Emily Metzgar (emilymetzgar@vt.edu): Last Names A-G
Chelsea Nowak (cnowak@vt.edu): Last Names H-Ri
Brian Kastner (briank4@vt.edu): Last Names Ro-Z

Biological Systems Engineering
Priscilla Baker (bseadvising@vt.edu)

Biomedical Engineering
Amanda Sandridge (asandridge@vt.edu)

Building Construction
Gary Kinder (gkinder@vt.edu)
Shelton Norwood (snorwood@vt.edu)

Chemical Engineering
Carrie Hopkins (carrieh7@vt.edu)
Gary Whiting (gwhiting@vt.edu)

Civil Engineering
Kara Lattimer (karalatt@vt.edu)

Computer Engineering (including CPI, CRA, MCHL, NWCS, SFTW)
Mary Brewer (taylorm@vt.edu): Last Names A-D
Nicole Gholston (nicole7@vt.edu): Last Names E-K; R
Kimberly Johnston (kim4vt@vt.edu): Last Names L-Q
Susan Broniak (sbroniak@vt.edu): Last Names S-Z

Computer Science (including DCC and SC)
Molly Austin (mdaustin@vt.edu)
Jennifer Bradley (jrsotto@vt.edu)
Leigh Anne Byrd (leigha@vt.edu)
Tonisha Montgomery (tonisham@vt.edu)
Barbara Parker (barbara13@vt.edu)
Ryan Underwood (ryanunderwood@vt.edu)

Construction Engineering and Management
Sharon Williams (sharon.williams@vt.edu)

Electrical Engineering (including CMNW, ECRA, ERES, MNSY, PHTN, RFMW, SPCS)
Mary Brewer (taylorm@vt.edu): Last Names A-D
Nicole Gholston (nicole7@vt.edu): Last Names E-K; R
Kimberly Johnston (kim4vt@vt.edu): Last Names L-Q
Susan Broniak (sbroniak@vt.edu): Last Names S-Z

General Engineering
Matthew Cheatham (mattc5@vt.edu)
Jennifer Chin (jchin@vt.edu)
Jessica Elmore (jjelmore@vt.edu)
Devin Erb (devinerb@vt.edu)
Maia Greene-Havas (maiagh@vt.edu)
Alexis Miller (alexismiller@vt.edu)
April Mullins (aprilm22@vt.edu)
Daniel Newcomb (danieln1@vt.edu)
James Newcomer (jamesn@vt.edu)
Alice Noble (alice.noble@vt.edu)

Industrial and Systems Engineering
Jacob Kerstiens (jekerstiens@vt.edu): Last Names A-L
Paula Van Curen (pcuren@vt.edu): Last Names M-Z

Materials Science and Engineering
Michelle Czamanske (mczmans@vt.edu)

Mechanical Engineering (including AUTE and RBMT)
Sarah Deisher (deisher@vt.edu)
Hannah Troutt (htroutt@vt.edu)
Linda Vick (lvick@vt.edu)

Mining Engineering
Michelle Crotto (mcrotto@vt.edu)

Ocean Engineering
Emily Metzgar (emilymetzgar@vt.edu): Last Names A-G
Chelsea Nowak (cnowak@vt.edu): Last Names H-Ri
Brian Kastner (briank4@vt.edu): Last Names Ro-Z

Transitional Advising:
Non-engineering students wishing to change into engineering: University Transitional Advising
Engineering students wishing to leave engineering: University Transitional Advising