Virginia Tech® home

Excellence in Service

Dean's Award for Excellence - Previous Recipients

Examples of activities that may be recognized for Excellence in Service: outreach and economic development; professional service such as editorial work, professional society work, or conference organization; advising student organizations; administrative work within a department or the college beyond the call of duty. Recipients recieve a $1000 award.

Robert A. Canfield, Kevin T. Crofton Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
Kim Mallinson Lester, College of Engineering Dean’s Office
Jennifer S. Wayne, PhD, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics

Ali R. Butt, Department of Computer Science
Maury A. Nussbaum, Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
Joseph A. Schetz, Kevin T. Crofton Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering

Alireza Haghighat, Mechanical Engineering
Clifford A. Shaffer, Computer Science
John P. Shewchuk, Industrial and Systems Engineering

Michael Philen, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
Corina Sandu, Mechanical Engineering
Pamela VandeVord, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics

John Ferris, Mechanical Engineering  
Mary Kasarda, Mechanical Engineering  
Marie Paretti, Engineering Education  
Monty Abbas, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Alan Druschitz, Materials Science and Engineering  
Stephen Edwards, Computer Science  
Tom Hou, Electrical and Computer Engineering  
Pamela VandeVord, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics  
Bevlee Watford, Engineering Education  
Monika Lawless, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics  
Stephen Martin, Chemical Engineering  
Gary Seidel, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering  
Scott Case, Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics
Tamara Knott, Engineering Education
Mark Pierson, Mechanical Engineering
Jesus M. de la Garza, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Carin Roberts-Wollmann, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Wayne Scales, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Mary Kasarda, Mechanical Engineering
G. Don Taylor, Industrial and Systems Engineering    
Joseph G. Tront, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Kimberly Ellis, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Robert W. Hendricks, Materials Science and Engineering
Edward L. Nelson, College of Engineering
Corina Sandu, Mechanical Engineering
Alex O. Aning, Materials Science and Engineering
Hampton C. Gabler, Virginia Tech-Wake Forest University School of Biomedical Engineering and Sciences
Manuel A. Pérez-Quiñones, Computer Science    
Wayne L. Neu, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering    
Hardus Odendaal, Electrical and Computer Engineering    
Eileen M. Van Aken, Industrial and Systems Engineering    
Muhammad Hajj, Engineering Science and Mechanics    
Mike Karmis, Mining and Minerals Engineering
Bill Knocke, Civil and Environmental Engineering    
Kostas Triantis, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Mary Leigh Wolfe, Biological Systems Engineering    
Alan Brown, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering  
Michael W. Hyer, Engineering Science and Mechanics
Brian Kleiner, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
Romesh Batra, Engineering Science and Mechanics  
J. Michael Duncan, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Thomas L. Brandon, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
John J. Lesko, Engineering Science and Mechanics  
James R. Martin II, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Hanif D. Sherali, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
Edward Fox, Computer Science  
Harry H. Robertshaw, Mechanical Engineering  
Roger L. Simpson, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering  
Norman Dowling, Engineering Science and Mechanics and Materials Science and Engineering
Samuel Easterling, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Timothy Pratt, Electrical and Computer Engineering  

Bill Cox, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Fred Lutze, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering  
Pat Koelling, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
Wayne L. Neu, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
Charles E. Nunnally, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Elaine P. Scott, Mechanical Engineering
Thomas E. Diller, Mechanical Engineering  
Robert W. Hendricks, Electrical and Computer Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering
Brian Kleiner, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
Edmund G. Henneke, Engineering Science and Mechanics  
Y.A. Liu, Chemical Engineering  
William H. Tranter, Electrical and Computer Engineering  
Jim Armstrong, Electrical and Computer Engineering  
Jim Marchman, Aerospace and Ocean Engineering  
Joel Nachlas, Industrial and Systems Engineering  
Mike Vorster, Civil and Environmental Engineering  
Gregory Boardman, Civil Engineering  
Norman Eiss, Mechanical Engineering  
Gerald Luttrell, Mining and Minerals Engineering  
Daniel Schneck, Engineering Science and Mechanics  
Greg Adel, Mining and Minerals Engineering  
Bob Mahan, Mechanical Engineering  
Cliff Randall, Civil Engineering  
Tom Walker, Engineering Fundamentals
Gene Brown, Mechanical Engineering  
Tom Grizzard, Civil Engineering  
Bob Hendricks, Electrical Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering
Malcolm McPherson, Mining and Minerals Engineering