Currently, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering,  Industrial & Systems Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering offer distance learning classes through CGEP.

For more information about other distance learning courses visit Online Learning Programs

Civil and Environmental Engineering:
Faculty Program Advisor: Dr. Bill Knocke at knocke@vt.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Beth Lucas at blucas06@vt.edu ph: (540) 231-4595

Electrical and Computer Engineering:
Faculty Program Advisor: Dr. Joseph Tront at jgtront@vt.edu
Graduate Counselor: Leslie K. Pendleton, Ph.D at pendleton@vt.edu ph:(540) 231-8219

Systems Engineering:
Faculty Program Advisor: Dr. Konstantinos Triantis at triantis@vt.edu
Graduate Coordinator: Paula Van Curen at pcuren@vt.edu ph: 540-231-2364

Engineering Administration:
Faculty Program Advisor: Ken Harmon at kharmon@vt.edu
Graduate Coordinator:Paula Van Curen at pcuren@vt.edu ph: 540-231-2364

The basic requirements are below but please contact the graduate coordinator for the desired department prior to application to verify: Bachelor’s degree in an appropriate engineering field A GPA of 3.0 or higher The Graduate Record Exam (GRE) is required by some departments. Those not meeting basic requirements will be reviewed on an individual basis

Most classes can can be taken in real person at either the Blacksburg or Northern Virginia. For those not at these locations, courses are also broadcast in real time via Webex.

No, a student is able to take up to 12 semester hours before enrolling in a master’s degree program through the Commonwealth Campus. The graduate school website provides application.

CGEP delivers graduate engineering courses to students located across the Commonwealth of Virginia and beyond.  Most courses are delivered simultaneously to students on-campus (Blacksburg, Northern Virginia or both) and off-campus via Webex.

At this time there are no undergraduate degrees that can be achieved completely online. However, there are classes that are offered in an online format.  To find these classes, go to the timetable of classes and search under "Virtual Campus".

Yes, we have several courses that can be taken through the Continuing Education Center of Virginia Tech.

Required courses are typically offered during the fall and spring semesters. However, it is possible to encourage the offering of summer courses by communicating your interest to your academic advisor. Virginia Tech offers engineering courses at a distance that are not part of the Commonwealth Graduate Engineering Program that may be acceptable additions to your plan of study.  To find these classes, go to the timetable of classes and search under "Virtual Campus".